Wednesday, November 14, 2007

A week and counting or getting to the other end of it

Wow--

In one week OB2 (Our Builder's second in command--OB has had hip surgery and needed to turn over day to day to OB2) says that we will be able to move in. I hope so as we have scheduled the movers and all..... We will only have one shower as the glass and mirror people are backlogged but as long as those are installed by December 29th for our Housewarming party, all is good.

So---

What is still hanging in the wind--

Plumbing final trim should be tomorrow. I had heard that it was to be today but got put off a day.

Electrical is still being a bit tricky. We have found three areas of concern but our most wonderful Latin electrician is hopefully coming over today and solving all such issues.

The blower for the gas fireplace is not here/installed/bought???? It does light but the on/off is one of the electrical issues and no blower. It is pretty though.....

The finish carpenter must come out and do some adjustments to the doors, like, make them lock and close properly. The pocket doors have two different trims on them--chrome and nickel do clash.

I am awaiting the exchange for one of my ebay lights for the master bath--chrome and nickel clash, repeat.

The granite is in but not sealed--need to make a trip to HD or L for sealer and such--more hours of labor to be done before we move

Marmoleum is not sealed and polished--more hours of labor to be done before we move in.

Cleaning supposedly is starting

Painting retouch and patching is spots as well.

Need to decide where the doggie door should go--thankfully I took all the picks of where the wiring and such are located.

Friday the final inspection should be happening so it will be tight if they find anything amiss--here's to the power of prayer......

This weekend we are going to Port Angeles for our 1st Anniversary Fling--actually to see a seminarian that I worked with in our parish be ordained to the transitional diaconate--in June he will be ordained to the priesthood in the Cathedral in Seattle. It was a great excuse to get away and put off packing for a few more days--ha!

I will try and put up some more pictures of the inside on Friday.

Saturday, October 27, 2007

Hoping for a move in date or chin up, you're under water


So it is now nearly November and where are we? Not in Kansas to be sure but sometimes I wonder if in fact the wicked witch has had a say in our house finishing. I guess it doesn't help that next week is Halloween.
So what is done?

The marmoleum is in but covered up--paint/protection.

Electrical is getting there but it just trickles toward completion.

Landscaping is done in the front. The back is another story. The Mayoress wants to give us some $$ to help out but as DH pointed out, she can no longer see it so may no longer care (see fence entry below). I don't think he gets his MIL yet, oh well.

Kitchen cabinets are in and trimmed out with minor exceptions. Two laminate counter tops are being fabricated.

Carpeting is getting done. The plush is a bit darker than I pictured but it feels nice. The burber is looking good. The stairs and trimming are still unfinished.

The fence is in but the Mayoress is not pleased as it is higher than she imagined in back and will block the breeze and has no gate in the back. The fence builders also did not put the finished side toward their house as asked and the gate leaves something to be desired but it is DONE and hopefully dog proof. The Dog child will hopefully be adopted before Christmas.

What is coming up?

Countertops--hopefully Monday the template will be made and then it takes about a week to fabricate. We are still looking for a price point. We are hoping that the Italian granite is within range but we have a darker alternative to be priced also.

Plumbing--After the counter tops are here then the plumbing goes in at least that is the plan. We still have some tiling to replace after the little light debacle and we have seen no tub. I fear for the finish painting, 'nuff said.

More electrical--the low voltage is not finished and neither is the rest of the electrical. I am thinking our most wonderful latin electrician is over extended. The chandelier is out of the box and we have discussed how low it can go--bravo!

Closet inserts and pantry--November 1st.

Finish carpentry--door knobs, finishing the stair railings, REAL LOCKS, towel bars, towel rings tp holders, shower rods! (Don't get me started on how $$$ those last 4 items are)

Window coverings--Thanks to our fantastic friends and family we cashed in our Home Depot gift cards and purchased 6 HUGE Bali blackout blinds (at 25% off!!!!) and 2 other blinds with installation and still have $21 left!! THANK YOU!!!!!!!! They are due in Nov. 7th and should be installed within a week after that--YAHOO!!!

Disappearing screen doors--due in mid-November. This was a splurge but will be so nice in the summers, when we have them--ha!

CLEAN UP--This will be a massive undertaking and I am tired even to think of it.

Move in date--OB assured us that we would be in BEFORE t-day. This was before he went in for hip surgery, turned over 5 houses to complete to HRHG (His Right Hand Guy), who is now busier than a one armed paper hanger, and OLOB (Our Lady Of Budgets) has been on vacation this last week--returning Monday--TG!!

The state of our union--still standing but it has been challenging. DH has been a trooper but the budgeting has been a job of it's own. (I spend and he fumes--just teasing!) We are amazingly pretty on target and still eating more than mac and cheese and koolaide. We have definately learned a few things about one another that I am sure would have taken significantly longer without this project. To celebrate our first year together we are heading out of town about the time that we think the keys will be in our hands. Moving will have to be done during the week, oh well.


Be sure and peruse the pics!! When the carpet and floors are revealed--more pics to come!

Sunday, August 26, 2007

We got door--garage that is.


Well, where do I start this time? Oh, with the garage door! Shortly after my last post, the doors and trim arrived but the garage door was nowhere in site. This prompted our OSWN (Oh Shit What Now) reflex and nightmares of light footed and fingered thieves danced in our dreams. We checked with DB and he was covered for any loss so our blood pressures went down a bit. We parked our local panel van in the drive to give them something to dodge and it seemed to work. Wednesday the garage door fairies arrived and put in our new garage door, complete with WINDOWS!!! We weren't expecting that--I think that DB guilted the installer into giving us the door with windows because he was so tardy getting it to us.


Inside the walls are taped, mudded, sanded, primed and textured. Hopefully the wall color (Rodda "Bridal Wreath"--I kid you not...) will be early next week as the finish carpenters are coming to install the subfloor for the Marmoleum. I unloaded 50 sheets of 1/4 inch ACX plywood on Friday, into the newly secured garage.


Friday also saw our "beloved" construction arm of the power company AKA Mafia Inc spending an entire 55 minutes to connect 2 ends of the natural gas pipe and the meter and messily backfill the holes, that will be 1K, thank you very much! Oh, and we can't reinstall the earthquake valve that we originally took off or turn on the meter, contact the power company for that, good day. Please excuse my hostility.


Yesterday, we had the pleasure ( no sarcasm) of seeing the final pillar finished. As I handed the craftsman our check, he said to me, " I want you to know that DB really likes working with you." That made my day and as I told him, "We are trying NOT to be the clients from hell." To which he replied, "I know you are not, I am working there for DB as well."


Best I get this posted. No new pics except for the one here. I hope to have more interesting ones soon.




Thursday, August 16, 2007

Flooring decisions 101

Last Sat. we spent 8K for half of the flooring. We will also have a subfloor to put in for another 2K so the Marmoleum can be installed. It is at least as expensive as a hardwood floor BUT (note CAPS) IF it is installed correctly will be a 40 year floor that requires normal maintainence--no major refinishing in 5-7 year time frame. Also is superior for keeping down static and germs. Mind you I will not be breakdancing or licking the floor but, it is reassuring.....

Needless to say the hard surfaces budget is shot to hell. DH was horrified but after a gentle ROI (return on investment) chat we bit the bullet and went for it. The plan is to have Farbo Marmoleum in the entire downstairs, upper bathrooms and laundry room. The stairs, landing, game room and my office will be in a burber. The rest of the bedrooms (3!) and master walk-in closet will be in a plush. The Marmoleum colors are as follows:

Livingroom/Library/Back Hall: 3405 Granada
http://www.forbolinoleumna.com/default.aspx?menuid=1115

Family room/Nook/Kitchen: 3740 Donkey Island http://www.forbolinoleumna.com/default.aspx?menuid=1115

1st floor Powder room: 3414 Aurora Hour
http://www.forbolinoleumna.com/default.aspx?menuid=1114

Upstairs Bathrooms: 3049 Papyrus White
http://www.forbolinoleumna.com/default.aspx?menuid=1114

Upstairs Laundry: 3055 Fresco Blue
http://www.forbolinoleumna.com/default.aspx?menuid=1113

The links will get you on the page then click on the color chip for a bigger pic.

Toward the end, slowly or no heat yet.

I say that but we will probably be in the house in about 2 months--whoohoo!

The wall board taping is mostly done so texturing is next, I think. We still do not have a garage door or heat so that may slow things down a bit.

Why don't we have heat? We have a furnace and the piping to it but a little matter of 50 plus feet to the gas line has stopped us COLD. The short version is that we are waiting for the subcontractor of our local gas utility (aka Mafia NW) to bless us with their presence of a half hour of work to reconnect said pipes through conduit laid so nicely by DB with a means to fish it through. Oh and and the charge will be 1K for this privileged presence. (Note--dripping sarcasm). Oh, and did I mention that they have us scheduled for the 24th---3 weeks after we got the paperwork to them!!!!! Yes, we feel ripped off. Yes, we are bitching. Yes, we need to put on our big girl pants on and get on with it--enough! ( I do feel slightly better getting that in writing.....)

Tuesday, August 14, 2007

So where are we now or how did the house get that BLUE?


I can't believe I haven't posted for eight plus weeks! It seems like, oh don't go there.... So I owe you all a recap of there we are, so hold on for the ride.........................


The short version is, plumbing, heating, siding, electrical, porch, patio, 3/4 pillars, exterior paint (round one), insulation batting and blown and wallboard are done BUT I will digress to let you in on a few of the FUN (note caps--read forced grins and clinched jaws) that we have had.....

Plumbing--These guys really know what they were doing. See the picks for all the pretty blue and red piping--yessirree, very little copper here, just a lovely manifold system that should insure even pressure to all things flowing. The cost is lower than copper and the install is easier and NO LEAKS!!! They were done in less than a week.


Heating--The installer was a whinger of the highest order. He was pissed that the plumbers had "taken all the best spots" and that the vents were hard to put in under the floors, etc. My favorite episode was the day he asked where we wanted the thermostat and we showed him. We returned to find water, spewing from the overhead, with him no where to be found. He had drilled through the waste line. The framers had tried to get a bucket under it but they had their own job to do. DH was convinced that we could do nothing but I wrangled the ladder and with my trusty duct tape slowed the rush to a slow drip. To the plumber's credit, he had called DB but we thought it was a bit odd that he couldn't leave us a note since we live only three doors down. The following week DB had a heck of a time fixing it but it did get done. We also have a crudely patched sub floor where he had to cut to get in the underfloor venting--thanks so much!!!!


Siding--This was another WOW moment. It took less than a week for them to "finish"--it looks great, except 3 vents are missing from the back--no check for them! When they do install them they will need to be painted--Hope they can get here before painting, round two.


Electrical--This is the one area we probably went overboard on. I knew we were in trouble when DB said, "A normal house this size has 30 circuits, yours has 45." The bid was 8K over our original estimate but as I told DH, we brought it on ourselves by asking for all the goodies--extra circuits for a future shop, water feature, 220V for the future air conditioner (We're ready for global warming, here!!!) Our lovely Latino electrician, LLE, did superb job and has gone above and beyond by helping us with our speaker wiring and adding some additional bracing for a tricky lighting install to come. He even came in after the wall board and found a smoke detector that they had not cut out.


Porch and Patio--Both were done in a day, the same day. I asked and received for brushed finish on top of the porch with them coming back, removing the form and washing the faces to expose the aggregate. DB was so impressed with the look that he is considering using it in another of his projects. The patio was expanded to 14 feet by 12 feet. We needed to have a place for the BBQ!!! The cement workers were a "Master and Son's" operation. The sons did the grunt stuff and Dad did the artsy touches. Going with this artistic angle, we ended up paying him by paying his landlord and his power bill.


3/4 Pillars--Dave and I went out on Friday the 13th and picked out the "simulated stone" (read concrete formed stones with pigment.) We chose River Rock Spring. The following week it was being installed. The guy was really nice and surely worked hard but lamented that, DB had underestimated the amount of material needed--even though he, the mason brought even MORE than DB had said, oh well. Three were done in a day, despite the rain. But the last one is, alas, not done, despite the new stuff being there a couple of days later, it still languishes, undone......I just hope they can make it look like the others, which look great.


Insulation--Truely a one day job at best--so fast I have no pics. It was just after the 7/18 and the wallboard went up very shortly after. Update: The blown insulation went in TODAY (8/14!!!)


Wallboard--this is actually the last thing that has been done. I'm putting it out of order because it doesn't have any real stories to be shared other than, it was DONE in less than two days. That is for the wallboard install. The clean-up was a few days later and the taping will begin when we have heat, but that is another story......


Painting, Round One--Remember in the beginning of this blog where we were practically blood brothers with the paint store guy because we came in and tried so many colors? Well, a 2 foot by 2 foot patch is STILL NOT BIG ENOUGH!!!!!! Our house has the honor of being the MOST colorful on the street and then some. The painters informed me that they liked the color as it was a good color for a house in Mexico. The painters did a less than spectacular job. They did not prime ANY of the exposed wood and you can tell. Needless to say, we are not paying for it. I for my part have revised the directions for the house--hill, water tower, BLUE house, 'nuff said. Update: Have paid for 75% with a promise that soffits will be reshot, we'll see.


So this get's you pretty much caught up on the house building--be sure and view the pics in our album.


Tuesday, June 12, 2007

A roof is formed or Done in a DAY!


Yesterday the roof was started and COMPLETED!!! WOW!!! Thanksfully DSD took some pictures in progress of I would have thought the roof fairies had done it. (I have posted my photos but need to nab DSD.)Not true--I did see the crew as they were finishing after 7pm. There are about 7 bundles of shingles left over and some other roof parts but it looks great!

The heating guy was over last Sat, pre-roof and cut most of the vent holes--couldn't complete due to it not being at least tar papered in--well no more, he can probably run ducting this week.

Wednesday, June 6, 2007

Windows and doors or the eyes have it


I think I read somewhere that the windows of a house give it soul--or something like that. DH and I went out of town for a little R&R (little in my case as I am back at work, DH returns on Sunday). While we were gone, the windows and doors (sans garage) were installed, the shingles arrived, garage was poured and the plumber is fast at work.

The windows really look nice and I think really give the house a presence. The front door is awesome as is the 64 square feet of sliding doors to the back yard. The window to the left of the front door is cracked. Chatted with OB and he is all over it and said that the frame was twisted so another window had been ordered.

The plumbing is something else. Copper is not used now--due to cost and skill that it takes to install it without leaking. There are red and blue tubes--everywhere. OB explained the manifold system that will give equal pressure to all faucets, showers, etc. No scalding and works well with our on demand water heating system. I was worried that the plumber wouldn't "get" where to put the master tub faucets, but he did. I will not be knocking my head as I soak and look at the Olympic Mountains--goodness. The shower downstairs is tiny but will be all that is needed if we have a disability issue, especially with a grab bars. The second bath surround has been delivered--all in one, no seams--just need another squeegee.

As mentioned before, the shingles are delivered and "up on the roof" but no roofers. According to MM (Mother Mayoress), the crew arrived about 4:30AM on Friday and waited for delivery for the shingles but they didn't arrive until noon and they crew had left about 10AM. They have not returned. OB has called again but he says we are at the mercy of the crew--too hot, too wet. I expressed my worries that the strand board would come unstranded but he says, not to worry, that's his job. Right.

As always, check the pics. Photo credits to DSD.




Tuesday, May 29, 2007

Roof is up and shingles are coming!


The framers' last day was Thursday. I bought sandwiches for all of them as a small thank you. We got chatting and I mentioned that I'd like to invite them to our open house when it's done and they were a bit stunned. The lead mentioned that they rarely get to see the finished product. Guess I will have to change that.

We continue to struggle finding the paint color. I think I have convinced DH that the "hyper" blue should be for trim, only. We still don't have a paint color. Where is that fairy godmother when you need her????

We are leaving for Arizona for a few days so will have a bit of a gap in pics, unless I can convince DSD to do the honors. The shingles will be going on while we are gone as well as plumbing and possibly the garage floor--we can have a garage band......wait, I can't play anything!!!

Be sure and check out the 29th pics--some better sunset pics.








Thursday, May 17, 2007

Heaven & Diamonds or Stairs & Night Sky

OK, OK, I am dating my self. The title of this post refers to "Stairway to Heaven" and "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds"--oh so 70's!!! But the point is WE HAVE STAIRS!!!!! Got home around 9pm last night and had dessert up with DH, on the second floor, sans ladder. The city lights were exactly like diamonds. It truly is going to be a treat to gaze westward, at all times of the day.

Spoke with OB and we have chosen a front door. Check it out: http://www.thermatru.com/CatalogDetails.aspx?StyleNumber=S891&Category=SS-8-SARA
in brushed nickel (won't be black)
Best of all, we will be under budget for the exterior doors--whoohoo!

OB comes over tomorrow to go over the bills and scheduling. I figure we're about 3 weeks ahead of schedule.

No new pictures, but I will post STAIR pics ASAP.

Monday, May 14, 2007

Second floor and more or paint r us


As I write this the second floor walls are up and over half of the interior second floor walls are up as well. My DS1 (Dear Carpenter Sis) suggested some otherworldly powers that the framers must possess but I assured her that it is due to the copious amounts of soft drinks and coffee and junk foods that they consume. (and I am sticking to that!) They are currently hoisting the lumber up and using ladders to get up there. They lock them up at night so DH and I borrow DSD's ladder to make our way to the second floor. My DS2 (Dear Encourager Sis) is urging me on and "walking up those steps together"--hopefully there will be steps to go up on soon.


This weekend, the framers worked on Saturday so didn't do much photos--I hate to get in their way. I send DH--He can do it for me--ha! We put in for 2 pocket doors that were not in the plan and some "interior" windows--basically openings in the walls that are framed and trimmed like windows without glass--more below.


Our other Saturday project was to go and pick up some samples of paint. I picked one and DH picked the other. DH applied and I think we both agreed--neither one. We both actually like the honey bucket color. See the photo with this entry--Don't you agree? Not to worry, I will be headed back to the paint store to find just the right color. DH is convinced we don't need more testing but I refuse to pick the color from a 1x1 square.


Friday and today we did get "up on the roof", er...second floor. The views will be nice from there. Today, we got to see the result of our latest change. We had "interior" windows overlooking from both the office (which is now a bedroom) and the front bedroom (which is now the office) to the foyer below. DH is worried about privacy but I think it will be easily handled with window treatments.

Thursday, May 10, 2007

Pictures a plenty!!!!

I finally have them all up! You can watch each day as a show or by clicking on the thumbnail see them all at once.

(Look to the right--->"Other places to get lost at:")

If you have a slower connection I would not viewing as a show. I will try and spiff them up a bit with titles but they are all there and I will be adding more so come back again!!!

I'd love to read your comments!

Now, where is that tape measure.....

Friday, May 4, 2007

First Friday of Framing or A Wall has Risen



These framers work FAST!!!! As of Friday PM, all the first floor joists were covered and one wall was up and another two were built.

DH and OLOB (Our Lady of Budgets--employed by OB) met Friday PM, after DH's golfing. The good news is that they got things squared away and we are on the same page, literally.

We are even 7K UNDER budget, but I am sure not for long. Windows and doors have been ordered or are in pricing. Windows will be almost exactly like our neighbors (why didn't I see that--grimace) but I can live with that. Door is still being priced--no ovals available with 8 foot doors but the glass styles are available. I think the Saratoga is coming out on top (see link http://www.thermatru.com/CatalogDetails.aspx?StyleNumber=S73&Category=SS-EP-SARA )

Tuesday, May 1, 2007

Timber!!!!!! or framing is upon us






Took the photo on the top this morning and the one on the bottom this evening--what a difference 10 hours makes!!!!


OB called me this afternoon and they are starting framing in earnest tomorrow. (I'm afraid it will be all framed by the time I get home at this rate--grin!) He has this crew for the next 2 weeks and he says they are they best bunch to work with. The lumber bill is due and I am still dealing with getting the money in the right bank. Who would think that in this electronic age that it would take 3 business days for ACH! Someone is making some $$ here but it isn't us--I just want it there already. Enough whinging!
(Whinging definition here: http://www.freesearch.co.uk/dictionary/whinging)

Thanks for the comments on the doors. I was asked what the style of house was. I'd call it NW style but see for your self: http://www.architectsnw.com/plansearch/individualplansr.cfm?planno=M2645B3FT-0
We have made some changes to this plan and the exterior finishing is still being decided but it gives you some idea. The biggest exterior changes we made are getting rid of the large fake dormer and the small window on the right end of the house. Neither served a purpose and all the weather comes from the South here so the small window was a potential leak site. Inside, we decided to not have a 17 foot ceiling in the living room and instead add a study above it to catch some fantastic views of the Olympics. We also made the windows bigger to capture more of that view--thanks to SD (Second Dad) who suggested it when we were mulling over the plans--pre OB.

Sunday, April 29, 2007

Front door or the start of the house jewelry....

When OB came over on Saturday, besides going over the financials we looked at the schedule and looked at what we needed to be deciding on so it could be ordered in time to get to the site on time (JIT for you B folk out there....). The question of doors come up and we spent a good deal of time looking through the catalog for the front door. I never knew there were so many types, styles, warranties, yadda, yadda, yadda.

Links to our first, second and third choices are below: (I couldn't get the pics to come over correctly)

http://www.thermatru.com/CatalogDetails.aspx?StyleNumber=S73&Category=SS-EP-SARA

http://www.thermatru.com/CatalogDetails.aspx?StyleNumber=S12&Category=SS-EP-SED
(note--this model without the "red art glass"--just plain clear for us, thank you....)

http://www.thermatru.com/CatalogDetails.aspx?StyleNumber=S72&Category=SS-EP-SED
(see note above)

Any thoughts????? (I'd love to see if the comment button actually works---please be nice)

The other issue is that the plan calls out for an EIGHT FOOT DOOR---all of the above are not of that stature. The eight footers that we looked at were not that inspiring so may scale back and just have a SEVEN FOOT DOOR. Like I will ever come close to ducking to get inside.....

Forms on, Forms off--Foundation DONE!!!



The foundation was poured on Thursday and by Friday noon the forms were off and we had a foundation!!!! I got a call from OB on Thursday, wondering if I wanted to put a quarter in the foundation, I got my mom to give him one. On Friday, my day off, I asked to see it. He walked over to where he had put it and it was not there. The "deforming" crew apparently thought it was a "little extra" . I hope to reapply one, with Gorilla glue.


We got our first bills. We were a bit caught out as we thought we had a bit more lead time to move the $$ around but all is well. We figured out how to use the ACH (automatic clearing house) to move money from our credit union account to the bank we are using for the house stuff--no check kiting here!


OB came over yesterday and went over the financials with DH. We are actually under budget by a few thousand dollars!!!!! DH is pleased and I am over the moon. OB says Tuesday or Wednesday they will be framing. They are about 2 weeks ahead of schedule. Now to maintain it. All in all my head is spinning with the progress. I just can't believe it is going so well.


No additional pictures at the moment--I will be fixing that, soon. My DSD (Dear Step-Dad) is truely doing a steller job taking pictures.

Wednesday, April 25, 2007

Day 4/5+ Up goes the forms and our first decision


By the time I got home yesterday there were forms for the foundation.

OB had called earlier and we had our first decision to make--go as planned for the porch with Trex decking or go cement. So much for having a breather. After going over the pros and cons, we decided to go with cement for the stairs and porch--less maintenance was the deciding factor. We've chosen a light brushed finish so it won't be slippery.

After chatting with OB today, he says tomorrow they will be pouring concrete for the foundation TOMORROW!!!! Good gracious, at this rate we will be in before we know it....or not. I know we are bound to hit a few glitches and pitfalls but this project is going pretty well so far. I have a good builder (OB) and a wonderful husband (DH) to thank for that.

Monday, April 23, 2007

Day 3 or A-team returns



When I left for work this morning the lot looked like this:

By the time I got home it looked like this:


Apparently the "A-team" is out of jail or at least there was a different operator for the cat. We now have a very large hole that the foundation will soon be filling. It looks huge compared to what I imagined. There are some orange marks on the ground that we are assuming are the location of the outer corners of the front of the foundation. The North side looks a little squeezy but they must use some measuring device, right?


Over dinner tonight DH and I were wondering what decisions we would be asked to make first--at this rate I am sure we won't have long to wait.

Friday, April 20, 2007

Down it goes or it can only go up from here....



This is the picture of after it all came down. Our builder (OB) in the red vest is eyeing the progress. It went pretty well. The normal cat operator is in jail but the "sub" is doing a good stand in job--at least it is getting out of here. Currently there are three trucks lined up to take stuff away. Who know that it would be so popular--grin. (Read large $$$ signs here.)

OB has been a trooper and managed to save two of the three concrete planters that I has wanted to save. He was worried that I would be upset at the demise of the third planter but as I assured him, he was hitting way above 500 ball.

I am not sure what I felt like when I saw the great pile of rubble last night but as it quickly vanishes I am feeling that we will indeed see our home arise from the caos.

A quick photo credit to my DSD (dear step-dad) for the photo.

Sunday, April 15, 2007

Last of the bits or thank God for Craigslist.com




Spent most of the afternoon tying up the last of the "bits". I wrote up an ad on Craigslist.com before we went to church that we were going to have a free garage sale from 12-3pm. Boy, was that a slick way to get rid of most of the stuff! We got home right at 12 and there was a crowd waiting for us. [Who says people can't read!!!] The rush was dizzying but in the end we had one more load for Goodwill, another load to our current abode (three doors down from the "building site"), packing peanuts to recycle and other hazardous waste to recycle.

Those of you that don't know us personally might be scratching your head as to what that large white structure is behind the bungalow--soon to be gone. That is our best neighbor--a very large watertower that has lots of green space around it that allows us to have a very park-like backyard--though there is a fence between us and the tower. Once you get over the thought of having several hundred thousand gallons of water above your head, it's all good. I've been living here since I was 6 months old so I am totally over that. DH, worries about it crashing over after a quake but I was here during the "big" one in the 1960's and all it did was make sloshing noises--I was totally bummed that I missed JP Patches, but I digress. If it does ever fall, we will more than likely get the legs and not the water, just the same, we will be suing the city as no insurance in the land will take care of that.

DH took the numbers off and I hope to spiff them up a bit and recycle them to the new house, we'll see. We have taken lots of the plants and landscaping elements, read rocks and stepping stones, to the back of the lot to recycle into the new yard.

Monday, April 9, 2007

Count down to demolition

Today is day 8/9/10 until demolition of our small rambler. The slashes are the consequences of dealing with the city, a builder on vacation (good for him!!!) and many other factors that I am unaware of, to be sure.

What I do know is that we have a permit number and a cost for that permit from the city. Early next week I am sure I will be rushing to the city to pay our dues so the chaos can commence.

I hope to be posting a photo a day and let it tell the story along with a few from me.